The Central Naugatuck Valley Metropolitan Planning Organization (CNVMPO) is finalizing its new Metropolitan Traffic Plan, NVision50. This document will lay out a vision for the region’s transportation system in the future and steps to achieve the goals in the plan. A draft of the executive summary for the new MTP is now available for public comment.

The MTP was last updated in 2019 and staff have been working on the data collection, drafting the narrative, and completing the financial analysis for the new MTP. As additional chapters are completed, they will be released as drafts for public comment.

Please send comments to or call our offices at (203) 757-0535.

The CNVMPO includes Beacon Falls, Bethlehem, Bristol, Cheshire, Middlebury, Naugatuck, Oxford, Plymouth, Prospect, Southbury, Thomaston, Waterbury, Watertown, Wolcott and Woodbury. The region’s last MTP update was completed in 2019.

The Naugatuck Valley Council of Governments (NVCOG) is the host agency for the CNVMPO. The four NVCOG communities of Ansonia, Derby, Seymour and Shelton are in the Greater Bridgeport and Valley Metropolitan Planning Organization (GBVMPO). For information about the GBVMPO’s Metropolitan Transportation Plan, contact that organization at 203-366-5405.